Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

New Hire / Mentors

Status
Not open for further replies.

ayoung802

Mechanical
Oct 1, 2008
US
Hi I've been reading a lot of posts, have done a little posting myself and have found this forum and its members to be very helpful. I graduated in May '07 with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and recently started a new job building boats in Seattle.

I came across an article on Training New Hires in the aerospace forum(thread2-153152) which brought up a lot of interesting points and shed some light on members frustration.

Without going into a lot of details about the article I can understand where the frustration comes from when you have a new hire. With all the cut backs due to the economy training classes on the job just isn't as common anymore. I was lucky to have an internship throughout college and gained some valuable mentors along the way.

So I guess the question I have is what can a person due to be a better new hire? I don't like to interrupt other engineers when they are busy or deep in thought, but sometimes it has to be done or my productivity will go down.

I moved from Colorado for this new job so my mentors are no longer easily accessible. I feel a mentor is a valuable resource and am curious if anyone has suggests about how to find one, knows of a website for mentors or if there is anyone in the Greater Seattle area that would be interested in being a mentor?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Are you asking for a mentor for basic engineering or job specific? With a degree the basics should be self-evident with job specifics to be learned.