Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New mechanical engineer in MEP field......

Status
Not open for further replies.

agilityrider

Mechanical
Jun 3, 2012
US
Hi everyone, I just graduated in mechanical engineering and will be starting my first job after college working for an MEP company. I have some previous experience in the field through an internship last summer, but all I really did there was make CAD drawings and heat load calcs. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how to learn more about the field, like any book recommendations or any classes that would be useful?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I assume you will be doing HVAC and Plumbing:

For "applied HVAC piping" (boiler/hydronic, chilled water): get all of John Siegenthaler's books. Also he has a CD, which has dozens of his excellent articles.

For fluid flow fundamentals: get "Cameron Hydraulic Data". It may be out of print, but find a used one online (ebay, etc.) It is the most practical fluids text I have ever seen.

HVAC Cooling/Heating Fundamentals: Trane and Carrier used to publish handbooks - approx 1-inch thick. These books are very practical, but also well grounded in theory. Maybe they are available used, or you could check with Trane & Carrier sales representatives. Also, you might get a used copy of Faye McQuiston's HVAC textbook. It is (was?) a text used for undergraduate, but it is superior: many clear problem examples, reference charts & tables, etc. - a must-have book.

Study all these books. Read them from cover to cover. Then you'll know where to go when you're on a deadline.

Plumbing: check out the books on the ASPE website. They are the best.

Hire an experienced mechanical engineer who knows what he is doing.