New to Ontario: Mandatory CPD 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SinStrucEng

Structural
Nov 11, 2022
CA
Good day everyone,

For my Ontario colleagues mostly, but I welcome all feedback and advice. I am a structural engineer with my own firm and this year (2023) is the first year our licensing body - PEO - requires CPD (continuous professional development). Their description of this is as follows:

Examples of activities include studying and reading, attending seminars and webinars, passing technical courses, delivering engineering lectures, presentations or publications, developing engineering guidelines, and participating in technical mentoring. Taken from PEO's site: Link

Pretty simple question to the crowd - what are your plans to meet your CPD requirements? Does anyone know where to sign up for online courses tailored to structural engineers and designers? I went to the local construction association but they mostly cater to Project Managers and I worry that PEO will not accept those courses as they are not tailored or designed with engineers in mind. Thoughts? Suggestions? Recommendations?

Thanks, SinStrucEng

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I see lots of Struct's from ON participating in the SEABC courses and EGBC training seminars. I actually think those end up being the "best bang for your buck". Essentially $50 per hour and your full hours for the year plus.

Thanks Skeletron, that's interesting. I took at look at SEABC just now. Very similar to undergraduate courses. I saved that resource. My only reservation is that they're fairly "formal" - actual class times and then also testing. With small kids in the house and both of us working, that's a little tough for me.

One of the example activities is "developing engineering guidelines". This would probably include volunteering on committees that develop standards (through ASTM, ASME, etc.), which can be free (and a good way to both learn and contribute).