Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

New to the PRV world 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

badal

Electrical
Jan 14, 2003
I have been thrown into the world of ASME pressure vessels and PRV sizing. I am a PE, but my experience is in HVAC and plumbing consulting. Not process piping or pressure vessels. I've been asked by a local large manufacturing plant to size a PRV for a small chilled water system surge tank. I have zero experience doing this. I have read Tyco's and Crosby's guides and several other publications on how to do this over the past few days. I also have access to documentation that a previous engineer provided for sizing some valves. I at least know a few of the things that I don't know now, but I realize it is very involved and more then can be explained in a single post. I have not yet purchased ASME section VIII, API 520 or API 521 and realize those may answer all of my questions. I have my tank and system information. What I don't know is how to determine the worst case cause of failure or overpressure or when a rupture disk is required. I realize these are elementary questions and I may be in way over my head, but some guidance would be appreciated. What books/codes/references do I need to buy? Is there a course I can take to get my feet wet? Should I throw in the towel before I get too deep into this?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Why go to all that trouble for one PRV? There's no profit in it as far as I can see. I'd tell the plant who can do it so they can contract with them, or let you subcontreact it out to them.

Good luck,
Latexman

Technically, the glass is always full - 1/2 air and 1/2 water.