Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NEW TYPE OF COMPRESSOR. 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leffe

Mechanical
May 30, 2003
SE
I am an mechanical engineer and have just started tests of a new type of compressor I have invented. I have made a prototype to produce compressed air (10 bar) and it is performing very well. My question here is to try to form an opinion wether this new compressor would be suitable to use for cooling. What pressures are used in cooling systems? What pressure would be the optimal? What types of compressors are used in different systems and why? Before I approach anyone in these matters i need to get some basic information and undestanding abote cooling. Iwould very much appreciate if someone here could help me out.
Thankyou
Leffe

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Generally the discharge pressure of a chilling compressor depends upon the type of refrigerant and the condensing temperatures. Generally it is between 150 PSI to 275 PSI and can go maximum to 300 PSI in worst conditions.

The main criterion for a chilling compressor is that it should take care of part load conditions. I mean there should be some built in capacity control. In normal air compressors, you operate them at full load at all conditions and use a receiver as buffer. But chilling compressors are recirculating type and you should move only that quantity which is required for optimum power consumption.

There are reciprocating, screw and centrifugal compressors for bigger applications (and also scrolls for small units). The main difference is the capacity (tonnage)in the same order and their response to load variation.

If I can ask, what type of compressor is yours? Don't worry if you don't want to say.