Next step in my career 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cksh

Mechanical
Nov 6, 2003
US
Hello,

I am looking for some advice on wether or not to pursue an MBA (or another type of MS degree) or just plain quit whining and do my same old job ;). I did some searching but I couldn't find what I was looking for.

A little about myself. I have been working in engineering since 93. Working my way up from drafter to engineer over the years while going to school. I graduated in May of 05 with a BSME. At the same time I started with my present employer as a Design Engineer. Before that I was an engineer/designer for over 4 years working on electromechanical devices. A BSME seemed a logical choice considering I have always worked on mechanical machines/device design.

My current company is an Automotive supplier and I really like them but I have a questionable future (Anyone who is in Automotive does I guess!). I am content as far as salary, benefits, and atmosphere. However, I do not feel I am challenged anymore and have been wodering if maybe a career choice would suit me better.

A lot of engineering departments I have worked for really had their engineers focused on the business side of things. I always thought that it was the future. Engineers spending as much time engineering as they do in business planning meetings was the norm. Thats why I thought an MBA would be best for my future.

I thought about an MSME but I don't want to sit through classes for two years only to be at the same desk doing the same thing after I am done.

I guess my question is: what do I want to be when I grow up?

Here are my choices (And believe me I have though alot about all of them)

1. Get an MBA and see where it takes me (nowhere with current employer). Maybe engineering management someplace else? I would probably focus on leadership training.