Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NFPA 70 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

PUMPDESIGNER

Mechanical
Sep 30, 2001
US
My expertise is not in building electrical codes.

I read the following in NFPA-70:

NEC 230.95-A
SETTING – The ground-fault protection system shall operate to cause the service disconnect to open all ungrounded conductors of the faulted circuit.

I cannot see any way for this to be accomplished except by circuit breakers. I understand and agree with the concern for partially energized loads with faults, and circuit breakers are fine by me.
However does this code really require circuit breakers?
Is there a device allowing use of fuses?

Thank you.

PUMPDESIGNER

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm no expert either, but isn't a ground-fault interrupter basically a breaker? Standard breakers and fuses both rely on temperature to act. Not much difference, except you have to replace the fuse. GFIs sense current to ground. When the current exceeds the threshold, it opens the Hot and Neutral lines (single-phase circuit).

dwayned