Nitrogen gas, calculate temperature change over time

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArveS

Mechanical
Jun 8, 2021
NO
Hello all
I am currently working on designing a calculator that is able to calculate the temperature of nitrogen gas inside a container, as well as calculating the temperature on the container after some of the gas is "bled" off/out over a given time.

For now (as I am fairly new to thermodynamics),I am considering an ideal gas. And I find that T2 = T1 * (P2 / P1).

The problem I have is to evaluate how the temperature of the nitrogen gas is impacted by the material of the container, and also how the ambient temperature (outside the container, air) impacts the nitrogen gas temperature over time. An example is that a 50 liter container consist of nitrogen with a temperature of 313K with a pressure of 200Bar. For 120 seconds the pressure is reduced to 150bar. Calculate the temperature inside the container, and also the temperature of the container.

Any help and tips on how I should proceed with this problem is much appreciated.
-Arve

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Is this a student post / exam question? There's a separate forum for that.

But a hint here - Now you're including the container you need to think energy as well as ideal gas.

So this is impossible without knowing the mass of the container.

And then throw in some thermodynamics in terms of heat transfer between the gas and the container, both inside and outside the container.

In 2 minutes the temperature of the container doesn't have much time to react, so this is perhaps a bad example, or maybe means the temp of the container essentially stays the same? So your ideal gas law applies to the gas temp, which then slowly reverts to ambient temperature over say 15 -20 minutes? It doesn't make much difference here, but remember T is in K and pressure is absolute pressure.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.