Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Non-standard fasteners 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmatov

Mechanical
Mar 19, 2005
US
On a lighter side, do any of you mechanical types have a copy, or a reference to, the old non-standard fasteners?

I had a chart many years ago for screwholes that were mislocated, so an offset screw was needed, hole tapered large at the bottom, so reverse tapered screw needed, countersink on the wrong side, so taper on screwhead on top, etc.

Mine was probably from 30 or more years ago. Youngsters might not think it funny, then again, with an engineering mind, they just might.

Kind of on the line of "Herman" and "The Bull of the Woods".

If you have a lead, please reply. If you have a copy, please post a link.

My background is Machine Repair, Westinghouse type. Fix the machines that make machines. Precision, precision, precision. Unlike my present "Get the friggin' thing running, an inch out of line is OK till we get a down turn."

Cheers,

George

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This is a joke, right? "Reverse Tapered Screw", "Offset Screw", "Taper Screwhead"?

Kenneth J Hueston, PEng
Principal
Sturni-Hueston Engineering Inc
Edmonton, Alberta Canada

I've seen it, but I don't have a copy.
I too would like a copy.

"Wildfires are dangerous, hard to control, and economically catastrophic."
"Fixed in the next release" should replace "Product First" as the PTC slogan.

Ben Loosli
CAD/CAM System Analyst
Ingersoll-Rand

Yes a Joke...I have a copy I got a year ago having
lost my first one....

It came as humorous catalog page from a legitimate
fastener supplier. Go to this site and go 3-4 pages
into their catalog...

Metric Screw & Tool Co
9 Lake St.
Wakefield, MA, 01880

1-800-METRIC-1