Normalized, killed, or fine grain plate 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heyner

Mechanical
Jun 26, 2002
SY
Hi everybody!

I'm not an expert formulating materials according applications, and I want to know the rules (if they exist) to know if a CS material (say SA516-70) must be normalized, killed, fine grain, and so on.

Other question, I want to understand how can I use A516-70 instead of SA516-70...

For instance, the vessels I'm working on are:

Hor Vessel ID=84" L=20', P=320psi, T=250°F
Ver vessel ID=84" H=100', P=300psi, T=279°F

Any help will be appreciate...

Heyner

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Ok, first we must start with having you review the specific ASME SA material specifications - namely SA-515 and SA-516. These can be found in the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section II, Part A (ferrous materials) and are unique to intended service conditions for the pressure vessel plates.

Both of these ASME B&PV Code material specifications address melting practices and heat treatments. They are self explanatory.

Check with your plate supplier on some of those issues as well. For example, I think most of the modern plate is killed and fine grain, even though it may not say that on your PO. Normalizing is definitely an extra, though.

SA-516 should be essentially the same as ASTM A516. Check with your supplier to see if it meets both specs.

I don't know about ASME work, but in my field the normalized plate is usually required for low design temps or unusually thick plate.

Ok, I found in ASME BPVC (SA-20 cause SA-516 address to it) the mandatory requirements, and what to do if normalizing is needed.

But my question is How can I be sure I need (or I don't) normalized plates? Is it like JStephen said, at low temperatures? Is it only one of the reasons?

Thanks for your help,

Heyner