Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Novice Tapping in Aluminum Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewCNCist

Materials
Dec 13, 2011
US
I'm very new to machining, and the little experience I'm building is entirely centered around machining bisque fired and powder compact ceramics. That being said, I'm having a lot of difficulty machining aluminum (6061-T651).

I'm running a Haas TM-2P mill, with 6000rpm max spindle speed. I'm under the understanding that aluminum is generally machined at higher speeds than I'm capable of, and I have a copy of the Machinery's Handbook, but considering the results I've gotten trying to down scale parameters, using the book as a reference, to accommodate what my machine can do I'm clearly doing something (or a lot) wrong.

I've been trying to tap 1/4in-20 blind holes, a half inch deep, into predrilled 3/16in holes to no avail. I know that this isn't the ideal starting hole, but I figured since my work does not need to be precise that this would be workable. Am I wrong? Could someone please help me with a walk through (particularly feeds and spindle speeds that are possible for me??)?

Further info: I've shattered carbide core, TiN coated taps attempting this; am running under flow hydrolubric coolant; managed to produce one hole...but feed/speed was clearly off (produced a clean hole); any additional info for traditional surface milling is appreciated too, as that is what I will be doing next

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You may be able to tap at 100 rpm, or the machine may have a canned cycle for it, but maybe you need to start by tapping a few hundred holes by hand until you understand how it works.

The proper tap drill for 1/4-20 is #7, or about .201".
OF COURSE a .1875" hole is going to break taps.

Buy a Machinery's Handbook and READ IT.

At least read the manual for the Haas machine; it has to cover some basic machining topics.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA