Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NRCS applicability outside US 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

waseem19

Civil/Environmental
Nov 23, 2002
AE
Hi,
I've never worked in hydrology before and just got an opportunity to work on storm water management system project which will include lots of modelling of routing structures, pipes, channel and possibly reservoirs.
I’m doing text books readings and have the following questions for a start :)

1- I work outside the US so does this mean that the NRCS four curves (type 1 to 4) are not applicable?

2-the curve number method looks like something that could be applied outside the US (assuming similar soil conditions) correct?

3-I'm assuming that the SCS synthetic unit hydrograph is also limited to the US, correct?

4- If my assumptions are correct and the NRCS method is not usable outside US then what should I use (knowing that rational method is also not possible due to catchment area and need to design storage systems) ? I only have IDF curves to start with.

5- I did some readings on the available free software that I can use and looks like SWMM is my best start but again I’m worried that it might have other built in features custom made to the US. Please tell me your opinion.

Any help is greatly appreciated, i would be more than happy if you answer me in the same format of my questions.
Waseem

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The SCS/NRCS method is used in many countries outside the United States. In most cases, a local rainfall distribution is used in place of the standard SCS storms. A custom Unit Hydrograph may also be employed, but this is less common.

Peter Smart
HydroCAD Software

psmart,