Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NX 10 - using FEM deformation data 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmaricic

Mechanical
Feb 10, 2013
HR
Hello everyone.

I work in manufacturing company in tool and fixture design department as the designer and we use NX10.
I had a task for making welding fixture for one part. This part has the drawing that requires the part to be flexed on one side during welding to counteract the weight imposed on that part later in assembly, but this part is modeled in normal state, not flexed. When weigh is applied part goes to "normal" state.

My idea was to make a FEM analysis to see deformation of that part when weight is applied and then to use this "deformed" part to make a welding fixture because it has all kinds of brackets that needs to be in correct places.
This part is box-like shape, 2000x1000x500 dimensions and made from sheet metal ranging from 1-3 mm so the part is in elastic deformation when weight is applied.

Usually we don't have this kind of cases and we get 3D models as they needed to be.

Has anyone had some experience whit something similar? Has anybody used FEM deformation data and export it as separate part? Is it possible in NX?

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It is fully possible.
The difficult step is to transfer the info from the FEM result to the model because the output from the FEM is so completely different to what you expect to input into to your model.
For example you have entered length, width and thickness for your sheet metal, but the FEM output will be how much a couple of hundred points on that surface has moved. And your model has no such parameters.