Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NX 4 Vs. Solid Edge V19

Status
Not open for further replies.

andreskralj

Industrial
May 22, 2007
AR
Could somebody please explain the difference between what one or the other does? I mean Solid edge can model, asemble, animate and be adapted for a CAM software... NX 4 does the same thing and what more?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hudson888, I am interested in understanding why people love NX so much. I have been trying to learn it the last 4 months at a new job, and I have found it leaving a bad taste in my mouth. I don't mean to offend anyone here, but I have 3 years of full-time solidworks experience and in my humble opinion solidworks is a better program. But as a side note I am only doing modeling and assembly work. I can believe that NX has more functionality out of the box, but solidworks has add-ins for everything that NX will do. I know that for huge corporations, such as GM, that NX is probably a better solution, but that is not the application I'm talking about. Please straighten me out if you can, because I have to learn NX like it or not!!

Its not an add-in....as in you don't have to pay for it like NX. NX has more options, but you'll pay handsomely for it. If you really need it though, then $$$ is a small price to pay for wasted time. If you don't need it....then why bother with NX.

Jason

SolidWorks 2007 SP4.0 on WinXP SP2

CADWHORE,