Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Objective assessment of PM problems 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

TigerDog

Mechanical
Oct 17, 2007
US
I am new to ENG-TIPS but so far I am very impressed with the postings I've read. Thanks to everyone who keeps these postings professional and informative.

My particular question is related to the quality of Project/Program management at my company. Among other problems, in my opinion the accountability of our PMs is non-existent, and the responsibility tends to get pushed to the Engineers. I realize my perspective may not be objective so I am wondering if there are some common traits that "good" Project and Program managers/management have in common. And what role upper management plays into the equation such as clear goals, metrics, etc.

Further, what can be done about poorly performing PMs? Is this exclusively the realm of upper management or are there ways that team members can get the PM back on track?

Thanks to all who reply.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Well, how does YOUR management handle these things for you?

And would the cajoling of people below make any difference in YOUR behavior?

Fundamentally, there should be little difference in the management environments that apply to engineers and program managers.

Also, fundamentally, poorly performing PMs, like poorly performing engineerings, are a symptom of poorly performing management.

In most companies, the tug of war between Engineering and Program Management is a never-ending struggle. A good management team recognizes that both parties must be carefully matched in power to ensure that no single viewpoint holds sway.

TTFN

FAQ731-376

TigerDog