Oh, there are jobs... just 5-10 years exp. jobs! 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorisVian

Electrical
Oct 2, 2009
CA
Hey everyone,

I graduated in may 2009 from École de Technologie Supérieure in Montreal, Canada as an EE - Power and Industrial profile. Been actively searching for my first engineering job ever since.

Will someone tell me why the heck are there no entry level opening. I come across everyday with loads of jobs, only the 5-10 years exp. Where do they expect us to get the experience, bunch of HR morons!

Any explanation would be greatly appreciated!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have no explanation for the strong correlation between HR and morons. Maybe it's a prerequisite.

The problem is, at entry level, no matter how good your grades were, you're not able to really earn your keep, because you will inevitably make the same stupid mistakes that everyone just out of school makes, and it will take a couple years for you to learn some new skills that they don't/can't teach in school, and unlearn some of the behaviors that they do teach.

If it's any consolation, I have 44 years' experience, and can't get a job advertised as requiring 5..10 years' experience, either.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

Welcome to the reason why the power industry globally is in such a mess.

The operating companies have spent many years stealing employees from each other and have collectively failed to invest in developing new talent. The industry is at a point where so many people are approaching retirement within a few years of each other that there is a critical skills shortage. I feel sorry that you are struggling to get in to the industry and feel sure that you have identified the reasons correctly: personnel departments are staffed by bloody idiots.

Keep trying, it is a great industry to work in and there is a long-term future. Good luck.

----------------------------------
image.php