Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Oil & Gas vs Mining - the right move early

Status
Not open for further replies.

DDefoe

Mechanical
Jul 3, 2007
US
Hi, I'll try be brief but it's complicated - apologies.

I'm a piping/mechanical grad, and after my first 9 months of largely twiddling my thumbs I was seconded to a client's office in a maintenance/modifications role for an offshore facility. The role I filled was that of a senior mechanical engineer (7 years exp)who left overseas, and my company had nobody of similar experience to replace him that was familiar with the contract. Though I was to only tackle some of his scope due to my inexperience I am now performing the entire role he used to cover. Needless to say I was delighted with the opportunity, have been thrown in the deep end, have learnt an incredible amount in the past 6 months and will continue to do so for a while yet. I find the work very interesting. I am charged out at the same rate as the senior guy I replaced, and am earning a graduate salary, so my company is getting great value.

Human Resources and the national piping/mechanical chief have gotten wind of it and are concerned I will only learn the client's systems without being exposed to our systems and people. The chief wants to take me off the secondment and has put two options on the table: a site based role for the piping construction on a huge new gold mine, or a site role (close to the city) on a high tech iron making pilot plant.