Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Oil/Gas In rubber hose - Static implications

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbond

Electrical
Apr 13, 2005
AU
Hi Guys, I'm an electrical engineer
Posting this in here, but if it's not the right forum, please point me to another

Issue is, that I'm involved in doing the grounding design at a type of fuel station where trucks (tankers) will be filled with a fuel

I think that the equipotential leads that earth the truck/tanker when its filling have a switch on them so that you can (I guess) control when or not the truck/tanker is floating and when it's grounded

Does anyone have any info on the purpose of that switch or can you shed some light onto the usefulness of it?

Also, if the fuel is diesel, which I believe is combustible but not flammable, then is there any need to worry about static discharge?

Cheers!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

when loading trucks of any kind of material,its not that the truck is grounded, its that the truck is bonded to the equipment it is loading from. This means there is not POTENTIAL charge between the truck and the tanks/pumps et al.

I've seen trucks loading saltwater with some heavy oil and vapours burst into flames because the truck was not bonded to the tanks they were pulling from.

Guess what, diesel is falamble under the right conditions. Diesel makes a good fire starter for bond fires and in backyard barbies too.

All the loading/unloading stations I have seen constructed recently have some form of interlock so that loading/unloading cannot commence until the truck is correctly bonded. As an electrical, I guess you know how to do this better than I can.