Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Old school rookie need some advice 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mock1

Industrial
Sep 23, 2009
US
Well this is an interesting and very relieving site to find. I'm not really sure this is the part of this forum I'm suppost to be in but my job is mostly mechanical, a lot of stucture and way too much math.
My company designs CHP units, and they hired me because I have 20 years feild experience as a fabricator/ pipefitter/ welder. Now my job has branched off to designing these units in autocad. First, I've never used a comp before this job, second I still don't know how to use the cad program very well, and third I need all the help I can get.
My question is this... Where on this forum can I basically start from the begining on how to understand what it is I'm doing? I've installed HVAC systems in schools, jails, highrise buildings, airports, and even on an aircraft carrier. The calculations are very difficult to understand and even the engineering lingo I don't get.I'm sure I will get a lot out of this site but I really need some guidance.
Thanks, Chris

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

As mentioned by CBL, don't double post, it gets confusing and is frowned upon by 'the management'.

Here's the content of the other post, you may nead to be using internet explorer to open it.

forum555 is the other forum CBL & I mentioned which may help with your CAD questions.

Posting guidelines faq731-376 (probably not aimed specifically at you)
What is Engineering anyway: faq1088-1484

Thanks for the advice.
It seems I'm way out of my league here, but I'm still really interested in trying to learn this stuff. I'm starting school for Unigrahics next month.