Opening up my own firm 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBanalytic

Industrial
Oct 9, 2014
CA
Hello,
I am a licensed engineer who is currently employed at a small consulting firm. Sometime in the near future, I plan on starting my own business. However, my business plan is to acquire work sub-consulting to other engineering firms (at least until I can build up a decent client base). The type of work would be sometimes similar but the clients would be from a completely different sector. The reason I am going this route is that I already have been in talks with a couple of other firms who would hire me on a contract basis.

I have a couple of questions regarding a move like this.
1. I plan on continuing projects for my current employer on a contract basis (severing my employment contract). I'm not sure how receptive they would be to this idea because in doing so they cannot guarantee 2000 man hours out of me per year (which will decrease their billables proportionally). Does anyone see issues with this? Any tips on how I would go about bringing this up with my employer?
2. I have a 1 year non-solicitation clause in my contract following its termination. As I would not be going after their clients nor trying to move business from my employer to my own company I am not in breach of this contract. Does anyone see any legal or ethical issues with this as well?

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Wouldn't #1 conflict with #2? I mean, if I was someone who hired your original company but found out they were farming the work out to you then I would probably just hire you and skip your original company. This would seem to violate #2 even if you didn't intend for it to happen.

Maine EIT, Civil/Structural.

Having done something of the sort a number of years ago ...