Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

organization strategies 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liftingengineer

Mechanical
Dec 14, 2011
US
I am a younger engineer who works at a small facility. My job is so varied and I am always pulled in different directions. I am constantly given more work than I can handle, which is probably common so I am not complaining. My question is how do you engineers who have earn their gray hairs keep there work organized? Also how do you prioritize what is important to complete and what you can merely push to the side?

I've got a PHD is Broscience

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I've got a coworker that logs each and every assignment into his notebook, when someone comes along with a new assignment, he pulls out his notebook and asks, "which assignment do you want me to slip?"

Priorities are established by your customers, not you. If you need to juggle, then you need to get consensus from your customers for schedule relief.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

There are 30+ year people who still struggle with this. It's a habit. Learn and practice it now.

David Allen - Getting Things Done
Stephen Covey - First Things First
Peter Drucker - The Effective Executive

[I imagine I'll get a few snarky remarks from the cynics for listing those books... but they are worth a read, even if you are intensely cynical.]

The 2x2 Importance vs Urgency matrix is the key for me. It's amazing to me how many people I've worked with who do not understand the difference between the two terms. You can find the matrix at
How do you determine where things fit in the matrix?