Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Out Of Memory 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

PMcGowan

Computer
Nov 14, 2005
US
I am an IT Tech and my engineers are getting very frustrated. They are running SW 2005 SP5, and when they check a drawing out if the PDMWorks, make one change and try to check it back in there PC crashes with an out of memory error. I have upgraded them from 2000 to XP, they have 4gigs of memory with Virtual set at 8000. Their PC's are higher end PC's and are above and beyond what the SW site states. They are losing a lot of time and I have not been able to get answers from our VAR. Any suggestions? Please help, they are at their wits end.
Any ideas will be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Are these 32-bit machines or 64-bit? If they're 32-bit machines, I don't see how you could set the virtual memory to 8000 MB because the maximum virtual memory in XP is 4096 MB.

Having 4 GB of RAM won't help you; you're wasting your money after 2 GB, at least with SolidWorks. That's because of the way Windows allocates memory.

How many other applications or services are running, either in the foreground or background, when these drawings are loaded? Try bringing up the Windows Task Manager while a drawing is loaded and click the "Performance" tab. That will let you see how much memory is in use. If you have everything set up properly, you should be able to hit just over 2 GB of memory usage before you get a memory error.

Also ask them to clean up the Temp folder. Check out the faq559-884 by Scott Baugh.

And moreover reintialize the memory by minimizing the SolidWorks before you open up the document. In this way you will get around the memory accumulation problem.

Regards