Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Out of State Consulting

Status
Not open for further replies.

rover315

Civil/Environmental
Nov 9, 2023
US
Hi all, I need some helping thinking about this.

I'm a solo consultant now and a licensed PE in a few states. I have specialized knowledge in solid waste engineering and recycling due to my previous work experience and I focus on the manufacturing part of the solid waste operations. I work with other PEs to do any of the civil design, stormwater, electrical, structural, etc.

I have a potential client who wants me to help him in states where I'm not licensed. My recommendation for this client is to involve a PE licensed in any states where I'm not licensed to supervise/review/seal any of my work. I'd like to be paid directly by the client because this is typically faster and then I could provide other non engineering services (research, project management, etc) but I don't know if that's possible since the local PE would be the responsible in charge. Is my only option to be a sub to the local PE? I guess I could have 2 agreements, one with the local PE and one with the client clearly delineating the services.

Thanks for any thoughts on this.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't believe you could "prove" the EOR was in direct supervision of you if your contract was not with him, this IMO seems to be skirting the rules/laws and should something happen, it could probably land you in hot water. I wouldn't advise you going this route. Would it not be possible for you to obtain licensing in the states where there is work but you are not licensed?

Thanks. I could get licensed but I honestly want to limit the amount of states I'm licensed in to limit time spent on admin work keeping up with renewal dates, specific state rules, and differing CEUs. I'll clarify that by "local PE", I really meant a state licensed PE who has knowledge in my field of work, not just any PE.