Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Outline of my future

Status
Not open for further replies.

lorenz90

Mechanical
Dec 30, 2012
IT
Hello, I’m Lorenzo, I joined the forum just a few days ago. I’m an Engineering student, now I’m attending at the Master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering. I’m about to choose the elective courses, and in order to do that I’m deeply thinking about which one of my personal interests could lead me to a satisfactory professional career. Reading some random discussions I realized that this forum is frequented by a lot of engineers who are active in many different job areas. So, given the importance of the choice I’m making, I joined the forum in order to ask you some questions, because I’d like to have opinions of someone who is more integrated in the field than me.

The areas of Mechanical Engineering that I like the most are Mechanical Design, Vibrations and Mechatronics.
In particular, in the area of Mechanical Design I could attend courses like design with advanced materials, advanced design of mechanical structures and CAE.
Vibrations are interesting, but I’m not an expert in the field, so at the moment the choice is quite hard.
Mechatronics was my passion when I was younger, but I’m concerned because it is deeply related to Electrical Engineering and Automation, so the risk is that as a ME I won’t be able to reach a sufficiently strong level of competences. (maybe it’s better to focus on the mechanical part only?)

I know, my message is very long, and probably I made some mistake, but I hope you’ll apreciate my effort since I’m not a native speaker and speaking English isn’t my cup of tea :). So, which area do you suggest me, in term of job request, wadge, and probability of interesting developements in the future?

Thank you, Lorenzo

Replies continue below

Recommended for you