Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Owners representative and submittal of civil engineering design 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiddleCE

Civil/Environmental
Aug 28, 2008
US
I am a civil engineer that specializes in civil engineering design in a niche specialty where we need approval from a small regulatory agency. My clients, the property owners, often engage us and do not want to have any direct contact with the agency that needs to approve our plan; they want us to deal with the agency.
The agency is insisting we provide an email and phone number of owner to "copy them on comments". This agency also has a list of engineers they basically recommend. In past projects, the agency has contacted owners directly without us included and asked questions and provided comments. Sometimes this confuses the owners and basically mucks up to the process. I am telling the agency my clients hire me with the understanding that they then do not have to talk with the agency but they refuse to proceed with design review.

What are forum members' opinions on my validly of trying to insist that I am the sole contact, as the owners have requested?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Technically speaking, it is the Owner’s responsibility to comply with XYZ regulation. They have though hired you to “make sure that happens”. I would just talk to the client and let them know that they will be included/copied on all official correspondence. However, you will be answering the questions/comments and no action is required on their part unless you specifically contact them.

MiddleCE - Talk to a lawyer and/or read for yourself about a "Limited Power of Attorney". Your client can legally authorize you to act on their behalf on any subject they choose, including representing the client before the regulatory agency. Looks like you are in California, here is info on that state's requirements: Link