Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

P.E. letters of recommendation from a cold start 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

DarrellThomasNV

Mechanical
Oct 2, 2009
US
Hello fellow engineers! I’m looking for some advice.

I’m trying to get my P.E. license in Nevada and I’ll be sitting for the test in a few weeks on October 23rd--wish me luck. Assuming I pass, the state requires four letters of recommendation from other P.E.s (any state), and four years of experience among other things. I have the four years, but I don’t have the letters yet.

Here’s the scoop: When I graduated B.S.M.E. many years ago, I worked for a P.E., and accomplished 3.5 years of experience (well documented). I started putting my P.E. package together in Florida where I lived, and I had everything I needed to test, including letters of recommendation--3 of which were P.E.s. Well… military duty called and unfortunately I never sat for the test.

Instead, I was selected to fly some pretty high-performance aircraft in the USAF. It was a blast, and I’ve been doing it for the past 15 years or so. It’s the most fun you can have with your clothes on! So, 15 years older, I'm ready to get back into engineering. Feeling stale, I go back to my Alma Matter and recently get an M.S. Engineering (2009). I’ll be retiring from the military in about 18 months after one more deployment.