Paper space - what is it? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

sudhakarn

Automotive
Apr 1, 2013
IN
Hi Folks,
I am back with a new question.I have been using AutoCAD for several years.But I have never used paper space as much as model space.I have only used for generating few view ports and for a plot preview.So I just wanted to know the true purpose of paper space and the layouts. Where do we use it in real time.
Can't wait for your replies.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Paper space is a "virtual paper" you can use to make the drawing look more like a professional drawing.

Have you ever traced a drawing by placing a thin piece of paper over another drawing? That's a lot like paper space.

Have you ever created a drawing with multiple pages? When you attempt to print it, do you have to draw the window around one page border, then plot again and re-select the window around the next border, and so on? Would you like to automate that?
Paper space allows you to do that by creating several paper-space layouts (they can be identical) so that once the plot window is set, you don't have to change the plot settings again. The command PUBLISH will print out all of the paper layouts.

Have you ever found yourself making copies of your drawing so that one view can see the overall shape and structure, and then another view sees the same thing but at magnified scale to show more detail? Why did you draw it twice? By not using paper space to view the 1 model at 2 different scales, you just wasted a lot of time. What if there is a difference between the two details at two scales? Then you just created an error by drawing it twice!

You can draw things ONCE in model space, at whatever level of detail you need, and through paper-space viewports, you can zoom in on detailed regions as you need.

STF