PDM Question - FileVault and Save As of Drawings and Assemblies

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeRepeteur

Mechanical
Jan 17, 2023
US
Hello Everyone,

I am a Design Engineer for my company that is very small and have been tasked with overseeing our PDM process and management. We have a designer who is doing "Save As" for drawings and then renaming it to the larger size model we are making drawings for. I am worried this is causing a larger issue within PDM since I am unable to check out a model without checking out every single model we are doing drawings for. We are using SolidWorks 2020 and are using FileVault

How would one make this stop? Picture shows what I am seeing when I'm asked if I want to check the assembly out. I am working on the 7x17 and there are no assemblies in the model from the 7x19, 7x21, 7x23. He is unable to work on the 21/23 since I have everything checked out even though I am only working on the 7x17.

Cheers.

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=69382d78-2c7a-4a49-b924-65073db4d705&file=Screenshot_2023-09-29_145658.png
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi, LeRepeteur:

Could you please explain the statement below in details?

"We have a designer who is doing "Save As" for drawings and then renaming it to the larger size model we are making drawings for."

Best regards,

Alex

Designer creates a drawing for a specific model, for example a 8x17 trailer, from there he will save the file under a different name, for ex 8x19. He then will replace the 8x17 model in the new drawing he just saved with the needed 8x19 model but I am afraid that him doing this is causing PDM to link the two drawings as the one is referenced from the 8x17/first drawing.

Trying to see if I can break this reference somehow or gain an explanation as to why this is happening. He will check out the 8x17 drawing but the 8x19 drawing is contained in the check out process when it shouldn't since the 8x17 doesn't have anything from the 8x19.