PE-Exam question 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

nuche1973

Structural
Apr 29, 2008
US
Ok this one is for fun:
I am studying for the new combined 16 hour structural exam. While reading the introductory chapter to one of my review books, I found the following under the heading “Prepare for the Worst”:
“Imagine the distraction of someone crying…”
At first I burst out laughing, then thought, “Wait, what the heck am I getting into here?”. "What kind of test is this?"

This was part of the paragraph describing distractions that may occur during the test. When I took the FE several years ago we had a guy get tossed because his cell phone went off. It was set on vibrate. However, the room was so quiet the phone may as well have been set to “monastery gong”. Anyone else have any adventures to share?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I had a mumbler in front of me at the PE. He had a milk crate full of books, and every question he would start with the "I know I have that. I know it's here somewhere" and start banging around in his crate I thought I was going to cry after 8 hours of that). I talked to him at lunch and he said it was his 5th time taking the test, and he was sure that he was doing good this time. He also said that he had had to guess on the last 50 questions because he ran out of time. I'm thinking that he ended up taking the test again after that.

David

Took SE test in a large hotel in downtown Chicago (SE was only 12 hours in those days). On the second day, I got stuck in a massive traffic jam. So instead of being a half hour early, I was 5 minutes late. Of course, I was extremely panicked. So I pulled up to the valet parking, had a valet park my car and had a porter help me with my books. I must of looked like Van Wilder having a servant helping me into the test. I tipped the porter and started the test. The whole operation turned a few heads.
But I passed.