Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

PE License Electrical Drawing Training Course

Status
Not open for further replies.

michaeld123

Electrical
Apr 10, 2019
US
Hi! My name is Mike. I work as an electronics engineer for an aerospace company doing systems/software engineering.

I recently earned my PE license in Electrical (I have a BSEE). I would like to learn more about how to create/review electrical drawings and how to calculate various electrical load calculations for residential/commercial buildings.

Can someone please refer a good course/training to learn more about the practice of electrical design drawings/electrical calculations? Also, what software tool would you recommend for designing electrical drawings? Finally, I am open to any tips/suggestions you may have.

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Huh... you were able to get a PE license without knowing drafting or AutoCAD or how to do load calcs? Wow, times have changed... maybe I should go back and go after mine again!

Most companies use AutoCAD or a derivative of that for doing drawings, you can get training from any of the vendors, probably fee based. Load calc and system design software packages that I see used most often out there are ETAP and SKM Power Tools, they too offer training, definitely fee based. Those are good places to start.

" We are all here on earth to help others; what on earth the others are here for I don't know." -- W. H. Auden

@jraef

Thanks for your response! It was very helpful. Yes to answer your question regarding the PE Exam... Back around 10 years ago (2009), NCEES decided to split the PE Electrical Exam into 3 different modules. There is Power, Computer, and Electronics/Controls/Communications. I took the electronics test. Here is the syllabus in case you are curious: