PE Seal On Details 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

JeffAck

Civil/Environmental
Feb 5, 2023
US
Hi all!

The local water/sewer provider in our area is requiring that we use their details which are being provided in a PDF format with their title block, etc... These details are not to be revised, are to be shown on our plans as provided, and are not stamped/sealed by a PE from the water/sewer provider.

Since we are not preparing the details and are not to revise them, should the details being provided be signed/sealed by a professional engineer from the water/sewer provider?

As a professional engineer, I think they should and I do not think it is appropriate that I stamp/seal them since they were not prepared under my direct supervision.

I am interested in what others think on this topic.

Thanks,

Jeff

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Many companies include the necessary details on their detail pages in the plan set. To my knowledge, it is not expected that the engineer of record (you) was in responsible charge of that portion of the design. It's just the local code mandate, to which your plans refer.

Yeah, good luck with that. My experience is that you're expected to use their details and take ownership enough to seal them. Trying to get the provider's engineers to seal them is very difficult, and that's if they are registered at all. They can smell a construction issue from a hundred miles away that they don't want to deal with.

You should not seal their details. If you include them in your plans, add a note that the details were provided by X and they are required by X, but you have made no evaluation or assessment as to their viability.