Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PE: When is one needed? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

M98Ranger

Mechanical
Dec 2, 2007
US
I was hoping that some who are practicing PEs could help me to understand in a general sense when a PE endorsement is needed. I am a Mechanical Engineer. I have a couple years of experience working for the DOT & Public Facilities as a Project Engineer. I also have some time working as a Project Engineer doing Materials Handling design and miscellaneous associated design and calculations for structure and foundations.

I am starting a new venture where I am the only engineer and am going to be called on to help with all sorts of tasks, from building design, to construction, to machine design/manufacture of an automatic loader/unloader system for a trailer. Some general ideas or some information on where to go in order to have a good idea of where to venture without a PE would be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Let's start with a few assumptions:

You are located in the US (as guessed from the use of the term "PE" as opposed to other terms, and from your syntax)

You have a degree in engineering, presumably "Mechanical" from your handle category...

In the US, if you provide engineering services to the public at large...meaning a private engineer on public or private projects...you must be licensed as a Professional Engineer. Further, most states limit your practice area to a stated or proven "area of competence". In many states, you must be licensed by your discipline and you are not allowed to practice outside the discipline except under certain conditions.