Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pedestrian Bridge Design References

Status
Not open for further replies.

71corvette

Structural
Feb 26, 2003
US
I'm a highway bridge engineer by trade and have been tasked with an assignment that includes the design of a relatively small (60' span) pedestrian/bicycle bridge. We'll soon be starting preliminary design and I'm seeking some good references on cost-effective design for trail bridges. My concern is that I don't want to come up with something that's "overkill" for our client. We just need a simple, yet cost effective design that will stand the test of time.

I've found a good reference from the US forest service that has standardized pedestrian bridge designs, but there must be other information out there...

The substructure is of paticular interest. The forest service shows grade beams as being acceptable even for northern climates which I'm a bit uncomfortable with. Any insight on grade beam foundations would be especially appreciated.

Regards

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

tinytim22,
I am working on a project now that requires us (the contractor) to provide a pedestrian / equestrian bridge for our client. We are using the AASHTO guide for pedestrian bridges as our design standard.
I would also add that if you are planning to use steel for your construction material, you may just want to contact one of the many pre-fabricated bridge manufacturers and have them pull one of their "cookie cutter" designs off the shelf. Ours is a rather extraordinary application (HS-10 loading with a break-away mechanism) - the design, fabrication & delivery of the superstructure is about $1250 per foot of span which I'm sure you can beat.

Tim