Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

perl or python or autohotkey

Status
Not open for further replies.

rk_19

Structural
Aug 7, 2012
AE
Hi, i wish to automate windows applications with a script. which one is best to learn - perl or python. My plan is to
1. automate windows applications, eg; invoke a software and make it run with certain inputs
2. read/write/replace text at specific locations inside the file
3. built small gui's
- no intention to work on web programing,

personally for my programing, fortran is ok, and i use it very often for engg calcs - if i could avoid perl/python and do above items with autohotkey, i rpefer that
i am new to perl,python, autohotkey, so wish to know which one wud b the best

thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

MintJulep, VBA is great for doing stuff in whatever microsoft platform you're using.

If you're wanting to manipulate files and content (across different platforms, not just Office) then it probably isn't necessarily the best for that task.
An example: Outlook does not provide the same FileDialog interface that Word and Excel do, thus automating the storage of emails in Outlook via VBA is much harder than it needs to be.

The example of read / write / replace text inside MS Word files is relevant though, its much easier to do that inside Word than it is via 3rd party scripting functions.

EDMS Australia