Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Ph.D. in Project Management 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahad29

Mechanical
Feb 24, 2005
US
I have a masters degree in mechanical engineering and 4 yrs experience working with force transducers. I am thinking of getting my Ph.D. (Part-Time) in Engineering Management with specialization in Project Management. I wanted to know if it is too early to get a degree in Project Management since I only have 4 yrs expeience (Say 7-8 by the time I get the degree). Also how useful is it in the industry? Does the industry really require someone with a Ph.D. to be a project manager? Or is it good only in academia? I would greatly appreciate any input in helping me make an important career decision. Thanks

Ahad

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Generally a PhD in any field is a research degree. It involves doing some new research in some area and advancing the knowledge of the subject.

The biggest value of a PhD in industry is the PR value of the letters after your name. A Masters is better suited for work in industry than a PhD.

I’d stay at the master’s level unless you wanted to be a consultant and then the PhD is more of a marketing tool than anything.

The time frame is about right. The advanced degree will take some time off the usual time to make the transition to management, usually on a 2 for 1 ratio so say 8 years experience with a 2 year graduate degree would translate into 12 years normal experience to make the transition

However once in management further advancement would be dependent on performance than on education.

Rick Kitson MBA P.Eng

Construction Project Management
From conception to completion