Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pipe comparison - I need to make a

Status
Not open for further replies.

BRIS

Civil/Environmental
Mar 12, 2003
GB
Pipe comparison - I need to make a comparison of ductile iron steel and GRP pipes. Diameters are 600 to 1700mm and pressure ratings 6 to 30 Bar. carrying raw water.

I have no experience of GRP.

Is there anyone out there with experince of large diameter GRP pipes who can give me some pointers on their advanatges and disadvantages.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Thank you.

Fiberglas (one "s" not two) is a trademark, not a generic name for all reinforced plastics.

What sort of comparison are you trying to make ? Do you want to compare costs, hydraulic properties, strengths, useful life, all of these? You can find many such comparisons in the literature and on the web with a little searching. How do you plan to use this comparison ? To make a purchasing decision? To select a pipe for a particular application? Pressure or gravity flow? Water or other fluid?

Your question is so broad I'm afraid it cannot be answered in one short email message.

Both materials have limitations in respect of a soil/pipe structure. The DICL Ductile iron cement lined pipoe ahs limits of deflection as in the larger dioameter damage to the lining can occur if the pipe is deflected beyond the limit. GRP has limitations of strain compared to other materials.

AWWA standards should be consulted for the design and specification of these materials.

Certainly in Europe, Canada, SE Asia, teh Middle East and the Asia Pacific authoriies/companies are moving away from these materials in favour of thermoplastics such as ABS, PE , PP and the PVCs.

Sharing knowledge is a way to immortality