Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pipe designing/routing for cryogenic fluids and gaseous oxygen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aldhissla

Petroleum
Jan 16, 2013
DE
Hi there,

I'm just new in my job and the area of business are very different to my old one. In general I do know how to design pipes and route them, but since now I never handled that kind of liquids / gases and I try to figure out where the differences are for designing pipes between "normal" fluids / gases and cryogenic / explosiv ones are.
The pipes I'm talking about is for example going from a seperator to a flare stack.

Particular I'm looking for advice about:
[ul]
[li]max. allowable velocity in pipes[/li]
[li]is there a minimum straight lengths for a pipe I have to have (without having trouble with micro particles getting in the elbow)[/li]
[li]max. allowable velocity in pipes (fluid/gaseous)oxygen[/li]
[/ul]

Hope I made myself clear enough, if not please say so and I'm happy to be more precise!
Any advice will help and thanks for that in advance!

Looking forward to read some :0)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This looks like a good start

try googling oxygen system piping design

Max velocity is always a touchy subject and there are many such posts on this forum and the usual response is "it depends".

Oxygen for sure is a tricky fluid, but I don't know if there is really much difference in thepiping design.

no one wants the pipe to leak for any substance.

It's often more about material selection and stress analysis / expansion and contraction.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

Hi,

Not a full answer below but hopefully a part of it.