Pipe fireproofing

Status
Not open for further replies.

pop1888

Electrical
May 13, 2024
CA
Hi,
I am seeing this in a residential condo unit and the pvc pipe is coming from the unit above and into the unit below through the concrete ceiling. It doesn't look right at all but I'm an electrical engineer and I'm looking for some info with someone who knows the fire code/plumbing better as to whether or not this is fireproofed properly and/or what fireproofing would be required to bring this to code? The blue cable is a network cable which also isn't installed properly.

Thanks.

20240523_093158_llbs4l.jpg
20240522_123519_bmab8d.jpg
20240522_123320_ux38bz.jpg

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If I was a betting man, I'd say the plumbers set the sleeve in the wrong location and missed the wall in the suite above that the drain needed to be installed inside. If it was an architectural change after the concrete was poured, it would just be a legitimate extra and they'd x-ray and core properly. No subcontractor is going to take a hammer drill to a slab like that unless it was their mistake.

There is no fire stopping currently installed. The thing beside the drain with the nails hanging out of it is just a sleeve that was nailed into the formwork before the concrete was poured.

The architectural drawings should show the fire stopping details, and the contractor doing the work probably hasn't gotten to that suite yet. Send these pics to the architect and let them handle it.

Hi, Thanks for the reply. The unit already had occupants living in it for years. This was only discovered recently when the drywall ceiling was taken down. So I dont think it was cored properly. Wondering what would need to be done to get this up to code.

Hire a company that does fire stop assemblies, and other fire stop products

And also certifies their work

Only true way that it might get fire stopped correctly.

Don’t just let them use red fire stop caulk

And No Foam!!!!