Pipe Spool With Flanges of Different Classes at both Ends

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abdude

Chemical
Jun 12, 2018
SA
Good day to all,

I just joined a plant where we have both of a pumps suction and discharge main header's equipped with drains to atmosphere that are long enough to be classified as dead legs.

A design was made to connect a piping spool with different flange classes on each end to the flanges of the drains valves. The pressure differential between the suction and discharge of said pumps is large (hundreds psi).

I'm an inexperienced engineer and am concerned that said design is risky and will not handle the pressure differential of introducing the discharge flow into the suction line of those pumps.
Please help in answering the following questions:

- Is it an acceptable design and safe design to have a piping spool with 2 different flange classes on each end?
- What would be a pressure regulating device of justifiable cost for a service that will be operated occasionally? (Once in 2-4 months)

Comment: Welding shorter drains is out of the question, as a shut down would incur heavy production costs.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

As long as your safety devices protect the lowest rated component, then you can use any flange class you want to. I have frequently installed spool pieces with ASBM B16.5 Class 600 flanges on one end and Class 150 flanges on the other end. As long as I have protections in place for the Class 150 flanges it is all good.

[bold]David Simpson, PE[/bold]
MuleShoe Engineering

In questions of science, the authority of a thousand is not worth the humble reasoning of a single individual. Galileo Galilei, Italian Physicist

Instead of guessing any reason, suggest a P&ID could be handy for you to find out what's the process Pressure and temperature the pipe spool is to be operated, which may give you a engineering basis of the different flange ratings on both ends of the spool.