Mar 15, 2006
KR
hello everyone

what is the reason why piping is sloping

thanks in advance

have a nice day

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

A lot of the reasoning for pipe slope/pitch is depended on what fluid you are running in the line. I'm sure Big Inch will agree that the pitch of a steam main is critical to the safe and smooth operation of a steam system to insure proper and timely condensate removal. On refrigerant lines it is vital for oil return in the suction and discharge of HCFC and HFC lines. Liquid lines of HCFC and HFC systems are not as critical were the oil is misable. But with ammonina liquid lines where the oil is not misable the lines require pitching and "drop/out" pots to keep oil out of the system.
Just my three cents.

I'm not a real engineer, but I play one on T.V.
A.J. Gest, York Int./JCI

In power plant steam lines the rule of thumb has always been a pitch (slope) of 1/8 inch per foot towards the "drip leg" where the condensate can be trapped out of the system.

In chemical plants we use the same slope when we can. You would like to have the piping be as "self draining" as it can be when out-of-service, especially in systems that are transporting reactive chemicals. You would like to have these lines drain back to the vessels and where that is not possible, provide a "drip leg" with a small bore block valve to drain the leg manually. The idea is to keep the lines clear when the pumps stop so that you will not have the reactions continuing in the piping (and perhaps plugging them). To some degree, we would use the same principles in refinery piping. If the line is heat traced, we would like it to be self draining to be sure the lines are clear in case the steam or electric power are temporarily lost and the piping temperature cools.

Let me bring up something else to consider.