Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Piping System Design for Twin Screw Pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

ikha88

Chemical
Sep 18, 2014
ID
Dear All,

I'm Ikha, a new comer here. I've been working as process engineer for 2 years. But I have no experience in piping system design for Twin Screw Pump. I hope somebody here can help me.

In an on-shore facility, which we are designing, has an emergency crude oil transfer pump. Its type is Twin Screw Pump. The philosophy operation for this pump is to transfer the crude oil from Crude Oil Storage Tank to another Station connected with 6"-8 km Crude Oil Pipeline. It is operated for intermittent/emergency service, which is only to break the gel formed in the pipeline by its pressure.

My questions are:

1. Now we have designed the piping system for this Twin Screw Pump only based on velocity criteria for reciprocating pump. We refer to reciprocating pump because both are positive displacement pump. API 14e, as I know is not provide any information regarding piping design for Twin Screw Pump. Is anybody know the suction & discharge design (velocity, piping design) required specifically for Twin Screw Pump?

2. The pump capacity is 117 GPM. Beside this emergency transfer pump, for normal operation there are also 2 units of Crude Oil Transfer Pump which are Centrifugal Pump, have capacity of each 117 GPM, and can be operated for single or parallel (2 x 117 GPM) operation. These three pumps (2 Crude Oil Transfer Pumps and Emergency Transfer Pump) have the same suction header (8") and discharge header (6"). And also have same piping system for each pump, which are as follow:
- Suction pipe (from suction header to pump) : 4" with velocity 2.96 fps