Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Piping Vibration Level Guidelines 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

seanmc

Mechanical
Sep 2, 2001
AU
Does anyone know of some quantitative guidelines on acceptable levels of piping vibration? We have a major problem with one of our turbine steam leads which we are attempting to solve with the use of dampers, but how do I know what is an acceptable level of vibration, and what is unacceptable?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

For piping, try ASME OM-S/G-1990, Part 3 "Requirements for Preoperational and Initial Start-up Vibration Testing of Nuclear Power Plant Piping Systems" It is not a "code", but a non-mandatory guide. The general approaches should be useful for any plant.

seanmc,

I do not think you will find any definitive industry guideline for acceptable levels of steam piping vibration.

As a consulting piping engineer, I was asked this question several times and the only references that I could find were the old ASME OM-S/G 1990 guidline as well as a table in the old "Shock & Vibration Handbook".

It is important to understand if this vibration is continuous or transient in nature and if it is associated with operation of a control valve. It may be possible to add (relativly) cheaper rigid pipe restraints to your system rather than the expensive, and high maintenance dampers.....

Any suggestions John Breen ???

MJC

Stress packages such as Algor's Pipepak enable you to model the system including modal analysis. If the excitation is caused by the turbine one could then model the location of supports such that the harmonics are not in tune with the forcing frequency. The problem may be solved by the use of spring hangars , rigid or other supports.

It is of concern that the vibration is occurring at all unless it is fluid generated.

Thanks for all the advice, I am following up on the resources suggested.