Plastic Deterioration

Status
Not open for further replies.

llamallama

Civil/Environmental
Dec 9, 2009
US
All,

I am relatively new to the industrial arena, being a civil/environmental most of my career. Therefore some of the questions I have about plastics and polymers may be very elementary, I apologize in advance. I am currently working for a food processing company that uses batch retorts in its process. These retorts process product on injection molded plastic trays (the product is pre-packaged prior to processing). We have noticed a residue on the packaging after processing, and I am attributing it to the plastic in the trays breaking down. The exterior of the trays appears softer than when placed in service and a chalky material is coating the trays.

This is occurring at about six months after being placed in service. I do not know the exact material, but am working on an answer. Coincidental to the deterioration, the condensate in the retort appears to be going more acidic. The retorts run at about 265-280F, and the batch time varies from 1-1.5 hours. The runs are about 16 hours four days a week. The residue left on the product is becoming very problematic.

Would symptoms of material deterioration include the higher pH and chalking? Also, is there a cost effective material that would prevent this, or at least extend the length of time before the deterioration occurs?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

No one can give a reasonable answer without knowing what polymer your trays are made from. The conditions you describe are considered severe for most polymers. All polymers will degrade over time. Even stainless steel will not last forever.

Have you ruled out residue coming form the food product itself? Have you had it tested for its composition? Do you have some metal trays that can be run through your process to confirm or deny it? AS Compositpro mentioned, that is a fairly high temp and long duration for most plastics.