Plating rack electrical circuit dimensioning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luigi C.

Mechanical
Feb 28, 2024
IT
Hi guys,
I'm a material engineer working in a faclity that build up plating racks.
Often I 've to take into account with the following question: "Is that rack adequate for the flowing current?"
In fact the only one issue is the possibility of overheating and pvc coating burning due to joule effect.

I'm indagating if there is a method to solve the problem. I think i need to work on the ampacity of the plating rack circuit but reading on the internet is more complicated that i can imagine.

Could somebody indicate me the rigth way to calculate the ampacity or give me some ideas?

Thanks

Luigi
20240306_084813_nf1d3e.jpg

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Step one; Determine the specific resistivity of the part in question.
Step two; Determine the length of the part in question.
Step three; Determine the cross sectional area of the part in question.
Step four; From the above information, determine the resistance in Ohms of the part in question.
Step five; Determine the current through the part in question.
Step six; Use current squared times resistance to determine the heat developed in Watts in the part in question.
Evaluate the Watts per unit length and the temperature that may be reached.
You are on your own on this. If the part is immersed in a liquid that will efficiently conduct heat away from the part, a higher current density may be allowed.
In the parts shown, do an evaluation for the fingers and an evaluation for the section of the main support that carries the highest current, that is from the connection to the first branch, which will carry the highest current.
Your current limit will be determined by the maximum temperature that your coating will withstand.
Alternately, you may use a test current and measure the temperature that the various parts reach.