Please Clarify the concept of Amp Frame and Amp Trip. 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

toro45

Electrical
Dec 16, 2003
US
Hello;

I am an electrical engineer with an MEP consulting firm. I have done tonnes of single line diagrams however, I am unclear as to what the AF and AT really are.

From what I understand, say I have a 100Amp frame, the size of the circuit breaker that can be used has to be less or equal to 100 Amps. So what I get from that is that the AF is just an enclosure for the actuall circuit breaker.

I would appreciate if you guys could shed some more light on this.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi toro54
Manufacturers don't make a seperate case or frame for every ampere rating.
Frame size gives the physical dimensions of the breaker case.
Trips are the actual amps rating of the breaker.
yours

Frame is the insulation housing also known as molded case typically made of composite resin fabricated with an injection molding process.
Trip unit could be fix or interchangeable. Molded case circuit breakers (MCCB) with the same frame size often are available in wide range of trip amp rating.

To expand-

You can have a 1600 amp frame breaker with different amp trip settings up to 1600.

The amp trip will not go over the amp frame rating. The amp trip is what you use to size the trip rating of the breaker to protect down stream devices and cables.

JTK