Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Polyurethane hardness

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mechanical
Jul 25, 2003
IN
Dear sirs,
We are trying to develope a polyurethane foam for potting electronic printed circuit boards.But i am not getting proper hardness for the material.I would like to know the chemical used to increase the hardness of polyurethane foam.
Your prompt attention to this matter would be appreciated.
Thanks & Regards
Mehaboob.P.K

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am not an expert on this subject, but I will tell you what little I know (or think I know). There are many ways to change the hardness of the base urethane. Some urethanes have plasticizer for softening a harder version. Another way is to modify the chain constituents. And modifying the crosslink density should also do the trick (for urethanes this may require modifiying the chain structure).

Since you have a foam, reducing the amount of air in the foam will increase the density and hardness. Most foams are created by adding very small amounts of water. The water alters the stochiometry of the mixture and must be accounted for in the mix. So there are a variety of ways to change the hardness.

Foams can be tricky to process. I assume you have an automated foam dispenser. I suggest you get some tech help from the dispenser manufacturer. I don't think it is possible to succeed with foam mixing manually.