Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Post-Tensioned Slab-On-Grade

Status
Not open for further replies.

S R P

Structural
Dec 22, 2016
US
Hi,

I am new to this subject, but am designing a 125*100 foot rectangular foundation on expansive soil (with post-tensioned slab on ground with ribs in Houston, TX. PTI-DC10.1-08 gives several design examples for Extreme dry, Extreme Suction profile and wet climate. Do I have to do the design for all conditions or only one? If only one condition? which and how should I select it? Please advise.

Depth to water table is 9feet. Given constant suction, velocity of moisture flow, thronwaite moisture index, effective PI (29%)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It seems, from previous threads on this site, that the ribbed and post-tensioned solution you are talking about is only used in Texas and maybe a few other states in the US southwest. The logic escapes me, as ribs restrain shortening of the slab, so the PT can't get into the slab. Crack control with that system would be minimal if any.