Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Precision and uncertainty of video-extensometer

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoacimR

Nuclear
Jan 20, 2012
DK
Hi all

This is my first post after a few years absence from Eng-Tips. Hopefully I'm posting in the correct forum...

I'm new to extensometer measurements so I wanted to find out more about the measurement uncertainty of my video-extensometer.
Performing the uncertainty calculations described in a paper available from the optics manufacturer of the extensometer system, I get an measurement uncertainty in the order of 1 millimeter for measuring the position of an object.
The supplier of the extensometer system states the precision to be in the order of 10 micrometer for the strain measurement.

How this is possible?
Am I way off believing that the uncertainty needs to be at least one tenth of the measurement precision?
Maybe there's another paper "out there" explaining this?
Is it all due to the extensometer software performing some image processing techniques which reduces the measurement uncertainty?

Any input on this is most welcome.
Regards,
Joacim

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Possibly it's because strain is a ratio of lengths, and the scale errors cancel. I.e. things like parallax error or range error will result in a constant offset of the measurement of L0 and L1, and this offset will cancel out when you calculate strain = (L1-L0)/L1. Just a thought, you would have to verify that the biggest part of your 1mm error is from such constant effects, and that the repeatability of measurements in a single setup is as good as 10 micrometers.