Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Pressure reduction valve between economiser and a steam drum in HRSG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pederator

Mechanical
Nov 23, 2012
NL
Hello. My question is about control / reducing valve between economiser and a drum in HRSG, which is used in every HRSG to avoid steaming of water entering the drum. I need an information if this valve:
- is "open" at nominal conditions (design performance), so there is no pressure reduction, and water enters the drum at the temperature a little bit lower than the saturation temperature for the pressure in the drum as a result of proper dimensioning the economiser, or
- there is a pressure reduction even at nominal conditions

Thanks for reply.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hello Pederator,

'...used in every HRSG...'

I'll be the first to admit I'm still learning, but is this in fact so? It would seem that it depends on how far off-design-case the operating conditions in a given plant design and configuration are expected to get; would such a valve ALWAYS be needed? And if it IS required, is the feedwater admission valve ever used to serve this purpose?

If I'm wrong, someone please tell me, but it would make sense to me [at least in larger plants] to place the feedwater flow control valve between the economizer outlet and the inlet to the steam drum. In plants where the boiler feed pump prime movers can operate at variable speed using, for example, steam turbines, the ST throttle could be used to regulate HRSG drum level in the upper flow ranges with the feedwater control valve wide open so as to pose minimal flow restriction, whereas at lower flows when the turbine-driven BFP has reached its minimum speed the flow control valve would be used to regulate drum level.