Pressure Safety Valves in Low Pressure ASME Systems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Capta1nChaos

Electrical
Jun 1, 2023
US
Hello Everyone,

Problem: When working with non-ASME stamped vessels, what is the max pressure I can set a pressure safety relief valve to?

Background: My company deals with low pressure pipe work below 15 PSIG and we have always were able to slip through not having to get ASME stamped pressure vessels due to this. We have an internal debate going on about what the max pressure we can set a Pressure Safety Valve to. Can someone help point me toward the relevant code? I’m an electrical guy by trade and am no stranger to standards.

Our vessels are pressure tested to 25 PSIG but they aren’t stamped for service at that pressure. My co workers seem to think that means we can set a safety valve to 16 PSIG. However, my limited knowledge of ASME standards leads me to believe that would require us to get the vessel stamped for a higher pressure and the max pressure that vessel could see is 15 PSIG and below.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

ASME VIII Rules that a Pressure-relief Valve (and vessel) must be NB/UV Code Stamped for pressure 15 PSIG and above.

ASME VIII Division is forpressures up to 10,000 PSIG but there are alternative rues available in ASME VIII Division III

Pressure-relief designs are available as high 15,000 PSIG, though most are API-526 standard types limited to a Cl. 2500 inlet flange rating.

Your 16 PSIG Vessel would require the vessel and PRV to be code stamped.

Please note there is a separate forum for Safety Relief Valves (alternative name for PRV).

*** Per ISO-4126, the generic term
'Safety Valve' is used regardless of application or design ***

*** 'Pressure-relief Valve' is the equivalent ASME/API term ***

The maximum pressure you can set your relief valve to is the MAWP of your pressure vessel or piping whichever is lower.